AIMS3

Alternate scenarios, Innovative technologies, and Monitoring approaches for Sub-Seabed Storage of carbon dioxide

AIMS3 will deliver new insights, monitoring tools and best practice guidelines for CO2 storage at oceanic Carbon Capture and Storage (CCS) sites, specifically in crustal rocks (basaltic ocean crust) on the slow-spreading flanks of mid-ocean ridges (MORF) with sedimentary drape where CO2 can be fixated effectively without the risk of a later escape. The study forms a distinct progression of CO2 injection experiments with a focus on mid-oceanic ridge flank (MORF) environments. In contrast to conventional CO2-injection in former coastal subseafloor reservoirs or aquifers, AIMS3 utilises reactive rock formations, namely the upper, heavily altered oceanic crust, with precipitation of carbonate minerals in pore waters upon introduction of liquid CO2 or bicarbonate. Carbon mineralization in basaltic rocks offers a global storage potential that exceeds anthropogenic emissions.

AIMS3 will identify (using existing commercial sensors and newly developed sensors such as ISFET-pH, DIC and optical CO2), and monitor (arrays of stationary and autonomous platforms) potential CO2 leakages at CCS sites. We will develop with industrial partners a suite of cost-effective tools to identify, detect and quantify CO2 leakage with high precision and accuracy, which will provide the basis for an enhanced public confidence in CCS and a sustainable management of CCS procedures under various geological scenarios, well beyond the examples studied in AIMS3. Based on the wealth of data and direct comparison between the two most immanent geological scenarios (in AIMS3 and the GEOSTOR project), we will also deliver best practices for selection and operation of offshore CCS reservoirs, including an assessment of the utility of chemical tracers in the marine environment (mostly the carbonate system).

Schematic structure of the AIMS3 project, with each work package containing a number of tasks and subtasks and associated milestones. At the top of the figure, the linkage to the DAM research mission as a whole is shown, primarily to ASMASYS (transfer) and RETAKE (coordination).

PIs

University of Bremen // MARUM

Prof. Dr. Achim Kopf (Coordinator) // Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Bach // Prof. Dr. Ralf Bachmayer // Prof. Dr. Martin Eickhoff  // Prof. Dr. Jutta Günther // Dr. Tim Freudenthal // Dr. Tobias Wendler // Dr. Matthias Zabel

PIs

GEOMAR Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel

Prof. Dr. Eric Achterberg // Prof. Dr. Lars Rüpke //  Dr. Christopher Schmidt

PIs

Fraunhofer Institute for Physical Measurement Techniques IPM

Dr. Raimund Brunner // Dipl.Ing. Hendrik Fuhr

PIs

Sea & Sun Technology

Prof. Dr. Heinz Schelwat // Dr. Susan Mau // Dipl. Ing. Gerd Seidel

Sponsored by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research

AIMS3

Alternative Szenarien, innovative Technologien und Monitoringansätze für die Speicherung von Kohlendioxid in ozeanischer Kruste

AIMS3 wird neue Erkenntnisse, Überwachungsinstrumente und Best-Practice-Richtlinien für die CO2-Speicherung an ozeanischen Carbon Capture and Storage (CCS)-Standorten liefern. Der Verbund AIMS3 wird dazu kontrollierte Experimente zur CO2-Speicherung an basaltischen Ozeankrustengesteinen an der kalten Flanke eines mittelozeanischen Rückens mit Sedimentbedeckung durchführen, um die Effektivität der zugrundeliegenden Reaktionen zu demonstrieren, wo CO2 effizient fixiert werden kann ohne Risiko eines späteren Austritts. Im Gegensatz zur klassischen CO2-Injektion in ehemaligen küstennahen Unterbodenreservoiren oder Aquiferen nutzt AIMS3 reaktive Gesteinsformationen, nämlich die alterierte, permeable obere Ozeankruste, deren Porenwässer mit flüssigen CO2 bzw. Bikarbonat als Minerale ausfallen. Diese Karbonatfällung bzw. -mineralisierung der oberen Basalte bietet ein höheres Speicherpotential als das anthropogen produzierte CO2.

Wir werden das natürliche System geophysikalisch, durch Bohrungen und Monitoring charakterisieren und dann durch Experimente die Mineralfixierung erproben. Das Experiment wird durch Messungen in Zeit und Raum begleitet, um Änderungen im marinen System in der Nachbarschaft der Einleitungsbohrung zu identifizieren. Dies soll mittels existierender und neuer kosteneffizienter Sensoren zu pH, pCO2 und gelöstem Karbonat [DIC] geschehen, die über die Zeit (mittels smartem Logging auf Landern und mobilen Plattformen) Leckagen oder Umweltänderungen identifizieren und quantifizieren. Die Geräte, die an den etablierten marinen Zentren (MARUM, GEOMAR) betrieben werden, werden mit innovativen Lösungen von KMUs verbessert (Sensorik, marine Robotik) und liefern ein modulares Monitoring-System, was die nachhaltige Nutzung durch Überwachung in verschiedenen Szenarien erlaubt, versatil einsetzbar ist, und so über AIMS3 hinausreicht und der gesamten Forschungsmission zu Gute kommen. Mit dem so generierten Handlungswissen sollen Entscheidungsträger über die Machbarkeit, das Potenzial und die Umweltrisiken mariner CO2-Sequestrierung informiert werden und Entscheidungshilfen zu einer nachhaltigen Speicherung in alterierter ozeanischer Kruste (AIMS3) bzw. in porösen Sandsteinen (Verbund GEOSTOR) bekommen.

Schematischer Aufbau des AIMS3-Projekts, wobei jedes Arbeitspaket eine Reihe von Aufgaben und Unteraufgaben sowie zugehörige Meilensteine enthält. Oben in der Abbildung ist die Anknüpfung zur DAM-Forschungsmission als Ganzes dargestellt, vornehmlich zu ASMASYS (Transfer) und RETAKE (Koordination).

PIs

Universität Bremen // MARUM

Prof. Dr. Achim Kopf (Koordinator) // Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Bach // Prof. Dr. Ralf Bachmayer // Prof. Dr. Martin Eickhoff  // Prof. Dr. Jutta Günther // Dr. Tim Freudenthal // Dr. Tobias Wendler // Dr. Matthias Zabel

PIs

GEOMAR Helmholtz-Zentrum für Ozeanforschung Kiel

Prof. Dr. Eric Achterberg // Prof. Dr. Lars Rüpke //  Dr. Christopher Schmidt

PIs

Fraunhofer-Institut für Physikalische Messtechnik IPM

Dr. Raimund Brunner // Dipl.Ing. Hendrik Fuhr

PIs

Sea & Sun Technology

Prof. Dr. Heinz Schelwat // Dr. Susan Mau // Dipl. Ing. Gerd Seidel

Gefördert vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung