GEOSTOR

Submarine Carbon Dioxide Storage in Geological Formations of the German North Sea

Carbon dioxide (CO2) emissions from large stationary point sources such as industrial plants can be strongly reduced by CO2 capture and storage in deep geological formations. A large share of the storage capacity for CO2 in Europe is located in sandstone formations below the North Sea. Even though potential storage formations in the German Ex- clusive Economic Zone (EEZ) are only partly explored, the available estimations suggest that CO2 emissions of German industries can be substantially reduced by capturing and storing CO2 below the seabed within the German North Sea sector.

Against this background, GEOSTOR aims to find prospective areas for CO2 storage and design a roadmap for the implementation of CO2 storage within the German North Sea. To achieve these aims, GEOSTOR will reassess static CO2 storage capacities for the entire German North Sea, quantify dynamic storage capacities for two selected sites, study potential leakage pathways and mechanisms, assess potential environmental impacts during various project development stages, e.g. of seismic noise on marine mammals, and develop a new passive seismic system for the environmentally sound monitoring of storage formations. Further, GEOSTOR will assess potential interactions of CO2 storage operations with other uses and functions of the North Sea area with respect to environmental, technical, legal and economic aspects and derive approaches for resolving potential conflicts.

PIs

GEOMAR Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel

Prof. Dr. Klaus Wallmann (Coordinator) // Dr. Matthias Haeckel // Dr. Christian Deusner // PD Dr. Mark Schmidt // Prof. Dr. Christian Berndt // Prof. Dr. Ingo Grevemeyer

PIs

Federal Institute for Geosciences and Natural Resources (BGR)

Dr. Franz May // Dr. Frithjof Bense // Dr. Axel Ehrhardt // Dr. Gesa Kuhlmann // Fabian Jähne-Klingberg // Stefan Knopf // Tino Langos // Dr. Andreas-Alexander Maul // Dr. Heike Rütters // Dr. Michael Schnabel // Dr. Heidrun Stück // Dr. Björn Zehner

PIs

Kiel University (CAU)

Prof. Dr. Sebastian Bauer // Prof. Dr. Frank Wuttke

PI

German Oceanographic Museum (DMM)

Dr. Michael Dähne

PI

Universität Hamburg (UHH)

Prof. Dr. Alexander Proelss

PIs

Fichtner GmbH & Co. KG, Stuttgart/Hamburg (FIS) // K.U.M. Umwelt und Meerestechnik Kiel GmbH (KUM) // TrueOcean GmbH (TO) // TenzorGEO (TG)

FIS: Dr. Achim Stuible // Dr. Sven Hoog /// KUM: Arne Schwenk // Dr. Anke Dannowski /// TO: Frithjof Hennemann /// TG (Auftragsnehmer von KUM und TrueOcean): Ivan Starostin

Sponsored by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research

GEOSTOR

Submarine Kohlendioxid-Speicherung in Geologischen Formationen der Deutschen Nordsee

Kohlendioxid (CO2) Emissionen von Industrieanlagen können drastisch reduziert werden, in dem das CO2 an der Quelle aufgefangen und im geologischen Untergrund gespeichert wird. Der überwiegende Teil der europäischen Speicherkapazität befindet sich in Sandsteinformationen im tieferen Untergrund der Nordsee. Obwohl die potentiellen Speicherformationen in der deutschen Ausschließlichen Wirtschaftszone (AWZ) bisher nur zum Teil exploriert wurden, zeigen die verfügbaren Daten, dass im tiefen Untergrund der deutschen Nordsee genügend Kapazität vorhanden ist, um die CO2 Emissionen der deutschen Industrie durch die Speicherung in Sandsteinformationen signifikant zu reduzieren.

Vor diesem Hintergrund, zielt das hier vorgeschlagene Projekt darauf ab, untersuchungswürdige Speicherformationen zu identifizieren und eine »Roadmap« für die Umsetzung der CO2-Speicherung im Bereich der deutschen Nordsee zu entwickeln. Um diese Ziele zu erreichen, wird GEOSTOR die statische Speicherkapazität in der gesamten deutschen Nordsee auf Basis der aktuell erweiterten Datengrundlage neu erfassen, dynamische Speicherkapazitäten an zwei ausgewählten Lokationen quantifizieren, potentielle Leckage-Pfade und Mechanismen evaluieren, mögliche Umweltauswirkungen bei Standorterkundung oder Speicherbetrieb, wie die Beeinträchtigung von Schweinswalen durch seismischen Lärm untersuchen sowie ein neues umweltverträgliches Verfahren zur Überwachung von Speicherstätten mittels passiv seismischer Methoden entwickeln. Zudem wird GEOSTOR mögliche Interaktionen zwischen einer CO2-Speicherung und anderen Nordsee-Nutzungen und Funktionen aus ökologischer, technischer, rechtlicher und ökonomischer Perspektive aufzeigen und bewerten sowie Lösungsstrategien für potentielle Konflikte entwickeln.

PIs

GEOMAR Helmholtz-Zentrum für Ozeanforschung Kiel

Prof. Dr. Klaus Wallmann (Koordinator) // Dr. Matthias Haeckel // Dr. Christian Deusner // PD Dr. Mark Schmidt // Prof. Dr. Christian Berndt // Prof. Dr. Ingo Grevemeyer

PIs

Bundesanstalt für Geowissenschaften und Rohstoffe (BGR)

Dr. Franz May // Dr. Frithjof Bense // Dr. Axel Ehrhardt // Dr. Gesa Kuhlmann // Fabian Jähne-Klingberg // Stefan Knopf // Tino Langos // Dr. Andreas-Alexander Maul // Dr. Heike Rütters // Dr. Michael Schnabel // Dr. Heidrun Stück // Dr. Björn Zehner

PIs

Christian-Albrechts-Universität zu Kiel (CAU)

Prof. Dr. Sebastian Bauer // Prof. Dr. Frank Wuttke

PI

Deutsches Meeresmuseum (DMM)

Dr. Michael Dähne

PI

Universität Hamburg (UHH)

Prof. Dr. Alexander Proelss

PIs

Fichtner GmbH & Co. KG, Stuttgart/Hamburg (FIS) // K.U.M. Umwelt und Meerestechnik Kiel GmbH (KUM) // TrueOcean GmbH (TO) // TenzorGEO (TG)

FIS: Dr. Achim Stuible // Dr. Sven Hoog /// KUM: Arne Schwenk // Dr. Anke Dannowski /// TO: Frithjof Hennemann /// TG (Auftragsnehmer von KUM und TrueOcean): Ivan Starostin

Gefördert vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung