Test-ArtUp

Ocean artificial upwelling

Global warming is predicted to increase ocean stratification, decrease the supply of nutrient-rich deep waters to the sunlit surface layer and thereby cause a decline in ocean productivity, particularly in low to mid latitudes (IPCC 2019). Active transport of nutrient-rich deep water to the sunlit surface layer, termed artificial upwelling, can partly compensate for this trend. While the benefit of this approach for the marine food web is undisputed, it’s potential in sequestering CO2 is considered to be negligible. Recent studies on artificial upwelling, however, revealed a much higher potential for CO2 removal than previously expected.

Test-ArtUp aims to examine, in a unique transdisciplinary approach, the use of artificial upwelling for the purpose of CO2 removal with respect to its technical application and optimization, its capacity for additional CO2 uptake and long-term storage, the associated environmental risks and ecological side effects, the related economic benefits and trade-offs and the legal constraints and governance requirements. Dissemination of the project results will be achieved in a two-way stakeholder dialogue, facilitated through a stakeholder reference group, and through target-ed communication and dissemination channels with selected audiences, offering group-specific dissemination products. The results of Test-ArtUp will be synthesized to provide knowledge-based advice on the possible implementation of artificial upwelling for CO2 removal and will con-tribute to developing a Marine Carbon Roadmap in accordance with the UN Sustainable Development Goals, particularly SDG 2 (Zero Hunger), SDG 13 (Climate Action), and SDG 14 (Life below Water).

Outline of the project structure highlighting the interactions within the project, i.e. between the work packages and the Stakeholder Reference Group (SRG), and showing the linkages with other related projects (left panel) and relevant society sectors (right panel).

PIs

GEOMAR Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel

Prof. Ulf Riebesell (Coordinator) // Dr. Wolfgang Koeve // B.ing. Jan Hennke

PI

Kiel University of Applied Sciences

Prof. Kai Graf

PI

Kiel University (CAU)

Prof. Marie-Catherine Riekhof

PI

Kiel Institute for the World Economy (IfW)

Dr. Wilfried Rickels

PI

Universität Hamburg

Prof. Alexander Proelß

Sponsored by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research

Test-ArtUp

Künstlicher Ozeanauftrieb

Durch den Klimawandel und der damit einhergehenden Ozeanerwärmung kommt es zu einer verstärkten Schichtung nahe der Oberfläche, wodurch die Zufuhr von nährstoffreichem Tiefenwasser zur sonnendurchfluteten Oberflächenschicht verringert wird. Dies führt zu einer Verminderung der Produktivität des Ozeans, insbesondere in den niederen und mittleren Breiten (IPCC 2019). Forcierter Transport von nährstoffreichem Tiefenwasser in die Oberflächenschicht, sogenannter künstlicher Auftrieb, kann diesen Trend teilweise kompensieren. Während der Nutzen dieses Ansatzes für das marine Nahrungsnetz unbestritten ist, wird sein Potenzial zur Bindung von CO2 als vernachlässigbar angesehen. Jüngste Studien zum künstlichen Auftrieb zeigen jedoch ein weit höheres Potenzial zur CO2-Bindung als bisher angenommen.

Test-ArtUp zielt darauf ab, in einem einzigartigen transdisziplinären Ansatz den Einsatz von künstlichem Auftrieb zum Zweck der CO2-Entnahme im Hinblick auf seine technische Anwendung und Optimierung, seine Kapazität zur zusätzlichen CO2– Aufnahme und Langzeitspeicherung, die damit verbundenen Umweltrisiken und ökologischen Nebeneffekte, seine Wirtschaftlichkeit im Sinne einer Kosten-Nutzen-Abwägung sowie die rechtlichen Beschränkungen und Governance-Anforderungen zu untersuchen. Der Erkenntnistransfer erfolgt in einem bilateralen Stakeholder-Dialog, der durch eine Stakeholder- Referenzgruppe moderiert wird, sowie durch gezielte Kommunikations- und Verbreitungskanäle mit ausgewählten Zielgruppen, denen gruppenspezifische Materialien und Informationen angeboten werden. Die Ergebnisse von Test-ArtUp werden zusammengefasst, um wissensbasierte Empfehlungen für die mögliche Implementierung von künstlichem Auftrieb zur CO2-Entnahme zu geben und zur Entwicklung einer Marine Carbon Roadmap in Übereinstimmung mit den UN Zielen für nachhaltige Entwicklung beizutragen, insbesondere SDG 2 (Zero Hunger), SDG 13 (Climate Action) und SDG 14 (Life below Water).

Skizze der Projektstruktur, die die Interaktionen innerhalb des Projekts, d. h. zwischen den Arbeitspaketen und der Stakeholder-Referenzgruppe (SRG), hervorhebt und die Verknüpfungen mit anderen verwandten Projekten (linkes Feld) und relevanten gesellschaftlichen Bereichen (rechtes Feld) zeigt.

PIs

GEOMAR Helmholtz-Zentrum für Ozeanforschung Kiel

Prof. Ulf Riebesell (Koordinator) // Dr. Wolfgang Koeve // B.ing. Jan Hennke

PI

Fachhochschule Kiel

Prof. Kai Graf

PI

Christian-Albrechts-Universität zu Kiel (CAU)

Prof. Marie-Catherine Riekhof

PI

Institut für Weltwirtschaft Kiel (IfW)

Dr. Wilfried Rickels

PI

Universität Hamburg

Prof. Alexander Proelß

Gefördert vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung